Happy Birthday!

Good Morning Everyone!

Well it’s “Sentimental Saturday” here at CricutDiva and I decided to make a birthday gift “check” holder!  Yes, you heard me correctly, it’s not a gift “card” holder, it’s for checks!  Believe it or not, there are still people out there who still send checks to their family and friends instead of gift cards to celebrate birthdays, graduations, etc.  Soooo, I give to you my very first Birthday Check Gift Holder!

2013 - June 22 - Sentimental Saturday - Happy Birthday

Front

2013 - June 22 - Sentimental Saturday - Happy Birthday 2

Inside

This card measures 4″ x 9″.  Now I know that’s not a standard card size BUT I wanted to make one big enough that you could insert your check (or money order or whatever) in it without folding it up. Also, I found a set of 25 envelopes at that measure 4 1/4″ x 9 1/2″ for only $2!!  That means the envelopes were only 8 cents each! They were in the Clearance section where I just LOVE to shop in – I am always finding great deals like this.

For the front of the card, I cut my designer paper (Later Sk8r from Close to My Heart) at 3 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ so that I would have a nice margin around the outside.  I then took the zip strip at the top of the paper and cut it to size.  It measures 1/2″ and then I cut it down from 12″ to 9″ to fit across the length of my card.

I cut the sentiment mattes using my Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.  You can find this image on page 65, E5, < Rctngle8 >. I cute 3 sets – one each at 2 1/4″, 2 1/2″, and 2 3/4″. I used White Daisy, Pear, and Lagoon cardstock for my papers.  The frame that I stamped in Lagoon ink came from a stamp set called “Frame It Up“.  The sentiment “Happy Birthday” comes from the “Perfect Fit – Birthday” stamp set. The sentiment was originally one long line but I cut the sentiment into 2 words and that way I could stack the two words on top of each other.  I love that about acrylic stamp sets! What I love about both of these stamp sets is that they both coordinate with the Art Philosophy cartridge which means NO … MORE … FUSSY … CUTTING for this crafter!

For the inside of the card, I cut another piece of Lagoon cardstock at 2″ x 9″ so that the background would not be just a plain white surface.  For the bottom pocket, I cut a piece of White Daisy cardstock at 2 1/2″ x 9″ and adhered it using Scor-Pal tape. I only put the tape on the bottom and sides so that the top would be open. I then a cut a piece of the designer paper at 2″ x 8 1/2″.

The three sentiments come from the Perfect Fit – Birthday stamp set referenced above.  I cut the circles using the Art Philosophy:  page 21, A1, < Circle > cut at 1 1/4″ and 1 1/2″ using White Daisy and Lagoon cardstock.

Well, I guess that’s all I have for you — this was really easy to make once I figured out the measurements!

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment.  You can also visit me at my personal blog – Love 2 Create – by clicking here.

Have a wonderfully crafty day!

Lucy

Designed by: Lucy Kelleher

Cricut Machine and Tools: Expression

Cricut Cartridges: Art Philosophy

Other Supplies: Later Sk8r paper pack, Frame It Up stamp set, Perfect Fit – Birthday stamp set, Lagoon/White Daisy/Pear cardstock, Lagoon and Pear ink

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

