Sentimental Saturday

Good Morning!

It’s “Sentimental Saturday” here at CricutDIVA!  For my project I altered a black composition notebook for you – LOVE doing these!

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 7

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 8

So this is what the Composition looks BEFORE I alter it.  Now some people don’t do the inside of the composition books but I just don’t like the way it looks so I always alter the insides as well.

First, let me show you MY notebook – the front and back:

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 1

Front

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 2

Close up of Front Cover sentiment

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 6

Back Cover

I used a paper pack called Laughing Lola for my notebook – I just love the colors in this paper pack ESP the purple one which is called Gypsy.  For the sentiment on the front cover I cut the mat using the Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.  You can find the image on page 65, E5, < Rctngle8 > and was cut at 2″ x 3 1/4″, 2 1/4″ x 3 3/4″, and 2 1/2″ x 4″.  I always use a solid dark colored cardstock for the back of my notebooks instead of a patterned piece of paper because it is less likely to rip AND it will help cover any spots or dirt picked up.

The sentiment comes from the stamp set “Scrapbook Statements – Poets. Here is the sentiment in case you can’ read it from the picture:

“People will forget what you said,

people will forget what you did,

but people will never

forget how you made them feel.”

Maya Angelou

Now for the inside of my notebook:

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 3

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 4

2013 - August 16 - Altered Notebook - Pic 3

So for the inside of my notebook, I always create a pocket so that I can put in any additional notes or papers.  Though it’s probably difficult to tell from these pics, there IS a pocket that opens up.  I stamped the words “love it!” and “noteworthy” using stamps from the All the Details stamp set in Black and Gypsy inks. The mini banners were also cut using the Art Philosophy cartridge.  It can be found on page 68, E8, < Banner1 > cut at 2″.  These words came from the “All the Details” stamp set.  Finally, I stamped the word “TEAM” on the bottom right using the Framework Alphabet.

I will be using this notebook for notes I take during meetings with my networking group.

Designed by:  Lucy Kelleher

Cricut Machines and Tools:  Expression

Cricut Cartridges UsedArt Philosophy

Other Supplies UsedLaughing Lola paper pack, All the Details stamp set, Scrapbook Sentiments – Poets stamp set, Framework Alphabet stamp set, Black cardstock, Gypsy ink, Black Ink

Leave a Reply

