Cereal Boxes Turned Into a Mother’s Day Mini Book

001

I made my Mom a “Nana’s Brag Book” for Mother’s Day this year. I had been saving cereal boxes for awhile to try a mini book and decided that the family pictures we had made in July 2012 would be perfect for this. Mom needed a Mother’s Day gift and since she had been hinting about getting some of the family pictures I decided to just try it out and see how one would do!

002

I started by cutting my cereal boxes and getting them to a size that would fit on my 12×12 mats. I used the Mini Books cartridge and selected a standard book cut. I cut them at 10.45w x 5.611h so I could fit both a picture and embellishments on each page. I used a regular 45* blade and set it to cut twice to make it go through the board. I also used some double sided tape to make sure the board was anchored to the mat securely.

013

I cut out 8 pages and then I duplicated the cut on the mat and cut 16 tan cardstock pieces to attach to the board for backgrounds. I used both Cricut cuts and store bought flowers, die cuts, Copic Glitter markers, ribbons and my Cuttlebug to embellishment my pages! The final back page is a Mother’s Day poem by Helen Steiner Rice that I put into a Word Document and printed onto vellum. I finished it out by adding large jump rings to bind it and tying ribbon around the top jump ring. It was an intense 3 day labor of love!!

012

013

014

022

 

 

 

There’s more pictures of the finished product on my blog- http://theseareafewofmyfavoritethings-beth.blogspot.com/ if you want to see how it all looked finished out. I posted a few here to show some examples, but 16 pages is quite a few pictures!!

2 thoughts on “Cereal Boxes Turned Into a Mother’s Day Mini Book

  1. Fabulous Beth! I actually just got this cart with this idea in mind for it and was still thinking it out in my mind. When I popped over to check in here this morning to see your project discovered you’d already thought it out for me. Thank you! You did such a fantastic job

Leave a comment