Sentimental Saturday~So Happy for You

Happy saturday everyone! Today I have two cards for you that I made for my daughter and my niece. Both of them had some exciting things happen to them recently and I wanted to send them a little card to recognize their achievements. I used a technique using  Art Bar crayons. I tried to do an ombre watercolor background with a screen layer on top.

So happy for you card

For the card bases  I cut a 6″x12″ card stock and folded it in half. On the front of the card I colored it with the Art Bar Caryons (you could use Gelatos)  Use water to dilute the color to blend.

ArtBar ombre technique

adding water to the Art Bar

ombre technique with ArtBars

DSC_0654

Next I cut the Layering screens with my expression2 and the CCR (Cricut Craft Room). I used smooth bazzill card stock . The 1st image I used is from the PaperDoll Dress-up cartridge it’s on page 78, The Border Blackout. I used three of those image with the middle one flipped and then I nestled them together so that I could weld them to make one piece. The measurement was about 5.7x 2.6 and then I copied and pasted another image because I used two of them.

For the 2nd card I use the CCR exclusive Teresa Collins Basic images. The measurement  I used was 5.6×5.6 and I cut it into pieces I liked for the card.

cutting screen

After my e2 cut my images I ran them through the Xyron to add the allover adhesive. I like to go over the edges so that there isn’t any adhesive left on the edges. I have an old Xyron and I feel like I have to do this step. I don’t know if the new machines leave excess adhesive on the edges.

Xyron technique

After I set the screen layer where I want it I stamped them. The red card I stamped with one of my favorite stamp set called Grand Greeting from Lawn Fawn and the Yellow card I use a stamp set that I got at Michael’s in the clearance bin. That set is from a company called Ditto. On the red card I made a slit on the upper left side of the card right on the fold so that I could thread the ribbon through it.

DSC_0646

 and tied my bow and placed my button.

close-up

With the Yellow card I used jute and a wood button.

WOW! card

The last thing I do when I make cards is sign them and I use this stamp that I got at an expo. It’s from Endless Creations I like it because I can also cut it with the 1 1/4″ scallop punch. How do you sign your cards?

handmade by stamp\

Thank you for stopping by today. Have a wonderful & safe holiday weekend!

Creating and Sharing, I invite you to visit my blog

Designed by: Liz Mullen

Cricut Machine and Tools: Expression 2 Anniversary Edition, CCR

Cricut Cartridges:  PaperDoll Dress-up cartridgeTeresa Collins Basic images Grand Greet

Other Supplies Used:  Art Bar crayons, XyronGrand Greeting from Lawn Fawn,  Endless Creations

Leave a comment